Finalists revealed for 2019 Active Norfolk Awards


The finalists have been announced for this year’s Active Norfolk Awards, celebrating the county’s active inspirations – and tickets are on sale now.

The awards (formerly the Norfolk Sport Awards) recognise the people and organisations that are helping the people of Norfolk to achieve their best, improve their health and wellbeing through physical activity, and those who are achieving incredible things in sport.

The judging panel sifted through hundreds of nominations to choose a shortlist of three for each category.

ITV anchor Becky Jago will present the winners with their trophies in a glittering ceremony at Open in Norwich on November 21, with tickets now on public sale.

Ben Jones, Director of Active Norfolk, said: “We received a record number of nominations this year which just shows what a fantastic contribution these individuals, teams, and clubs make to our communities. We’re looking forward to a brilliant night celebrating all their achievements.”

The finalists are:

The Active Inspiration Award

  • Basher Jabarkhel
  • Joyce Irvin
  • Rebecca Wicks


Activity in the Community Award

  • AgeUK Norwich Community Outreach Service
  • Integrated Qigong for Health
  • uea+sport Navigate Norfolk Programme


Youth Impact Award

  • Able2b
  • MAP Community Youth Work team
  • Omnes Games


Active Workplace of the Year

  • Flagship Housing
  • Naked Wines
  • YMCA


Sports Team of the Year

  • Norfolk Sportshall Athletics
  • Swardeston Cricket Club


Community Club of the Year

  • Norfolk Iceni Basketball Club
  • Thetford Town Cricket Club
  • Wymondham Town Football Club


Coach of the Year

  • John Allitt
  • Matt Pyatt
  • Paul Neary


BBC Unsung Hero

  • Christopher Forster
  • Denise Oates
  • Matt Pyatt


Achievement in Disability Sport

  • Derek Perry
  • Rachael Hutchinson
  • Ruby Bishop


Young Sportsperson of the Year

  • Calvin Smith
  • Gracie Anderson
  • Niamh Southgate


Sportsperson of the Year

  • Jessica Jane Applegate
  • Sophie McKinna
  • Todd Cantwell


Click here to buy your tickets for the ceremony now.


About Author

Jon Osborne

Comments are closed.